** Supporting Members Only  

日本語/ English

  IEEJ 50th / APERC 20th Anniversary Joint Symposium 2016
1. Purpose
In 2016 IEEJ and APERC will celebrate their 50th and 20th foundation anniversaries respectively. To commemorate this important milestone, IEEJ and APERC are hosting an Anniversary International Joint Symposium.

<Theme of the Symposium> Mapping the Energy Future
  • To commemorate the important milestone of IEEJ’s 50th and APERC’s 20th foundation anniversaries respectively.
  • To discuss near-term energy issues in the Asia-Pacific region and in the world as well as long-term energy mix and energy issues with widely recognized energy experts.
2. Date
   - Symposium May 26 (Thursday), 2016  09:30-16:45 (Registration 09:00-)
           May 27 (Friday), 2016    09:30-16:55 (Registration 09:00-)
   - Reception   May 26 (Thursday), 2016  17:00-18:30

3. Venue
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
   - Symposium "Jupiter" (Plaza 4F)
   - Reception  "Galaxy" (Plaza 1F)
10-8, Sekiguchi 2-chome, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, 112-8680, Japan
Tel: +81 3 3943-1111, Fax: +81 3 3943-2300
Access to the Hotel

4. Agenda:
- Thursday, 26 May 2016 -
09:00-09:30 Registration ("Jupiter", Plaza 4F)
09:30-09:40 Opening Remarks:
Mr. Masakazu Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, IEEJ
09:40-10:10 Keynote Speech:
Mr. Satoshi Kusakabe, Commissioner, ANRE, METI
Session 1:
How do we approach and deal with the current energy challenges? (Wildly swinging oil price, Geopolitical uncertainty, Nuclear safety, Climate change, Impact of the market liberalization)
Moderator: Ms. Kaori Iida, Sr. Editor, Economic News Div., Japan Broadcasting Corporation
10:10-11:10 Presentation:
1.Dr.Paul Stevens*1, Distinguished Fellow, Chatham House(RIIA), UK
2.Dr. Jonathan Stern*1, Chairman, Natural Gas Research Programme, OIES, UK
3.Dr.Tatiana Mitrova*1, Research Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University SIPA
4.Dr. Ken Koyama, Managing Director, Chief Economist, IEEJ
5.Dr. Kamel Ben Naceur, Director, Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks, IEA
6.Dr. Cary Bloyd, Senior Staff Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US
11:10-11:25 Coffee Break
11:25-12:25 Discussion
12:25-13:45 Lunch Break
13:45-14:30 Special Speech:
"Energy infrastructure in Asia and its Issues"
Mr. Takehiko Nakao, President, Asian Development Bank
Session 2:
Can APEC play a role as ”Trump Card” to address common energy challenges in the region? (Enhanced energy efficiency, Cleaner fossil fuel, Cheaper renewable energy, Safe nuclear and Energy security)
Moderator: Mr. Takato Ojimi, President, APERC
14:30-15:30 Presentation:
1.Ms. Cecilia Tam, Special Advisor, APERC
2.Dr. Sanjayan Velautham, Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Energy
3.Dr. Nan Zhou, Deputy Group Leader, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, US
4.Dr. Ross Lambie, Department of Innovation, Industry and Science, Australia
5.Mr. Nobuo Tanaka*1, President, Sasakawa Peace Foundation
6.Dr. Phyllis Yoshida, Lead Shepherd, APEC Energy Working Group
15:30-15:45 Coffee Break
15:45-16:45 Discussion
17:00-18:30 Reception ("Galaxy", Plaza 1F)

- Friday, 27 May 2015 -
09:00-09:30 Registration ("Jupiter", Plaza 4F)
09:30-10:00 Keynote Speech:
"Essence of the Energy Mix Development and Lessons Learned that should be Shared with the World"
Mr. Masahiro Sakane, Councilor, Komatsu Ltd.
Session 3:
Is it possible to reconcile economic prosperity with climate sustainability? (How should INDC be evaluated? What should be done for technology transfer? How should new technology be developed?)
Moderator: Mr. Hachinari Shimazu, Journalist
10:00-11:00 Presentation:
1.Dr. Hardiv Harris Situmeang, Chairman, Indonesian National Committee -WEC
2.Dr. Venkatachalam Anbumozhi, Senior Energy Economist, ERIA
3.Mr. Mitsutsune Yamaguchi*1, Special Advisor, RITE
4.Mr. Akihiro Kuroki, Managing Director, IEEJ
5.Dr. Li Zhidong, Professor*2, Nagaoka University of Technology, China
6.Dr. Gerry Thomas*1, Imperial College London, UK
11:00-11:15 Coffee Break
11:15-12:15 Discussion
12:15-13:30 Lunch Break
13:30-14:30 Special Speech:
"Can Nuclear recover its trust?"
Mr. William Magwood, Director General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency
Session 4:
Is there a realistic Best Global Energy Mix for 2030 ? (Geopolitical uncertainty, Result of the shale gas revolution, Climate change, Nuclear safety, New technology development, Benefits and drawbacks of market liberalization)
Moderator: Mr. Yasuhiro Goto, Professor, Asia University
14:30-15:30 Presentation:
1.Ms. Yukari Yamashita, Board Member, Director, IEEJ
2.Dr. Marwan Masri, President Emeritus, Canadian Energy Research Institute, Canada
3.Dr. Kenneth Medlock*1, Baker Institute for Public Policy, Rice University, US
4.Dr. Robert Whitney, Emeritus Chair, Business NZ Energy Council, NZ
5.Mr. Wim Thomas*1, Shell International, Netherlands
6.Mr. Mario Marasigan, OIC-Assistant Secretary, DOE, the Philippines
15:30-15:45 Coffee Break
15:45-16:45 Discussion
16:45-16:55 Closing Remarks:
Mr. Takato Ojimi, President , APERC
Announcement: Symposium Secretariat

※ Language: English/Japanese (Simultaneous interpretation will be provided.)
※ *1 Distinguished Fellow  *2 Visiting Fellow

5. Required qualifications for application: Supporting Members Only

6. Entry Fee: Free (including lunch and reception)
 *Pre-registration will be required.

7. How to apply: Please register from below URL.

8. Application deadline:Thursday, May 19, 2016

※There would be a case to close the invitation due to the beyond-capacity even if before deadline.
※The event program and time table has the possibility to change. We will make an announcement on the web site if there is a change, please confirm the information.

General Planning Group, Planning Administration Unit, IEEJ
TEL:03-5547-0211 FAX:03-5547-0223 E-mail:ieej-mail@tky.ieej.or.jp